New STEM schools designated in Ohio

COLUMBUS, Ohio (April 22, 2019)—Fourteen new schools from around the state of Ohio joined the Ohio STEM Learning Network today. The Ohio STEM Committee met to review applications for state designation as an Ohio STEM school. The committee is a panel of policymakers, agency directors, and business leaders.

Thirty applications from schools across Ohio were considered. Designation recognizes a school’s design as an effective place for STEM learning and invites the school into the Ohio STEM Learning Network, a public-private partnership managed by Battelle.

STEM (science, technology, engineering and mathematics) education provides students with a deep understanding of STEM subjects while incorporating inquiry-based learning and design thinking in all subjects. Several schools sought a STEAM designation in place of STEM to emphasize their inclusion of the arts.

The committee designated fourteen new schools:

  • Bigelow Hill Intermediate (Findlay City Schools)
  • Chase STEMM Academy (Toledo Public Schools)
  • Chillicothe Primary School (Chillicothe City School District)
  • East Canton High School (Osnaburg Local School District)
  • Franklin Elementary School (Wadsworth City Schools)
  • Gearity Professional Development School (Cleveland Heights-University Heights City School District)
  • Herbert Mills STEM Elementary (Reynoldsburg City Schools)
  • John Marshall IT (Cleveland Metropolitan School District)
  • Northeast Ohio IMPACT Academy (Campbell City Schools) – with conditions
  • St. Angela Merici Parish School (Cleveland Catholic)
  • St. Mary School-Vermillion (Toledo Catholic)
  • St. Paul School (Columbus Catholic)
  • Waterville Primary (Anthony Wayne Local Schools)
  • Winchester Trail Elementary School (Canal Winchester Local Schools)

Each year, the Ohio STEM Learning Network provides technical assistance to schools seeking STEM challenge and advises the Ohio STEM Committee on which applications merited designation.

We are proud to welcome these new members of the Ohio STEM Learning Network as they join’s Ohio’s diverse, and fast-growing STEM community,” said Aimee Kennedy, Senior Vice-President of Education, STEM Learning and Philanthropy at Battelle. “Each new school broadens our perspective and grows the collective impact of this state’s strong STEM ecosystem.”

The Ohio STEM Committee is supported by the Ohio Department of Education.

Note: Herbert Mills STEM Elementary in Reynoldsburg re-applied to convert their designation as STEM school to designation as a STEAM (STEM + arts) school.

About the Ohio STEM Learning Network

The Ohio STEM Learning Network was created in 2008 with five schools. With the addition of today’s schools, the network grows to 69 total STEM schools. The schools are supported by seven regional hubs.

About Battelle

Every day, the people of Battelle apply science and technology to solving what matters most. At major technology centers and national laboratories around the world, Battelle conducts research and development, designs and manufactures products, and delivers critical services for government and commercial customers. Headquartered in Columbus, Ohio since its founding in 1929, Battelle serves the national security, health and life sciences, and energy and environmental industries. For more information, visit


Apr 22, 2019


Battelle Media Relations

Media Contacts

Katy Delaney
Director, Media Relations
Office: 1.614.424.7208
Email: [email protected] 

T.R. Massey
Senior Media Specialist
Office: 1.614.424.5544 
Email: [email protected] 

Sign Up for Battelle Updates

Follow along with the latest news, announcements and updates from our Battelle community of solvers.