arrows arrow-right arrow-left menu search rss youtube linkedin twitter facebook instagram arrow-play linkedIn

New schools join Ohio STEM Learning Network

Posted on Apr 27, 2018

COLUMBUS, Ohio (April 27, 2018) — Today, new schools joined the ranks of the Ohio STEM Learning Network. The Ohio STEM Committee met to review applications for state designation as an Ohio STEM school. The committee is a panel of policymakers, agency directors, and business leaders.

Twenty-two applications from schools across Ohio were considered. Designation recognizes a school’s design as an effective place for STEM learning and invites the school into the Ohio STEM Learning Network, a public-private partnership managed by Battelle.

STEM (science, technology, engineering and mathematics) education provides students with a deep understanding of STEM subjects while incorporating inquiry-based learning and design thinking in all subjects. Several schools sought a STEAM designation in place of STEM to emphasize their inclusion of the arts.

Concurring unanimously with the recommendations of Ohio STEM Learning Network staff, the committee designated eleven new schools:

  • Bishop Flaget School (Ross County)
  • Boulevard Elementary School (Cleveland Heights-University Heights City Schools, Cuyahoga County)
  • Gesu Catholic School (Cuyahoga County)
  • Graham Elementary School (Graham Local Schools, Champaign County)
  • Graham Middle School (Graham Local Schools, Champaign County)
  • I Promise School* (Akron City Schools, Summit County)
  • Lander Elementary School (Mayfield Local Schools, Cuyahoga County)
  • Orchard STEM School (Cleveland Metro Schools, Cuyahoga County)
  • Southdale Elementary School (Kettering City Schools, Montgomery County)
  • St. Joseph School (Lorain County)
  • STEAMM Academy @ Hartford Middle School (Canton City Schools, Stark County)

The Ohio STEM Learning Network provided technical assistance to schools seeking STEM challenge and advised the Ohio STEM Committee on which applications merited designation.

“Inducting new schools into our network provides new ideas while ensuring the growth of STEM education in the minds of Ohio teachers and parents,” said Aimee Kennedy, Senior Vice-President of Education, STEM Learning and Philanthropy at Battelle. “These schools can be proud of their work in earning this honor and we look forward to sharing their unique strengths with the rest of Ohio’s vibrant STEM education community.”

The Ohio STEM Committee is supported by the Ohio Department of Education.

* This school will open in the summer of 2018 and was designated with a requirement to host a site visit with Battelle staff and representatives of the Ohio Department of Education at that time.

About the Ohio STEM Learning Network

The Ohio STEM Learning Network was created in 2008 with five schools. With the addition of today’s schools, the network grows to 55 total STEM schools. The schools are supported by seven regional hubs.

About Battelle

Every day, the people of Battelle apply science and technology to solving what matters most. At major technology centers and national laboratories around the world, Battelle conducts research and development, designs and manufactures products, and delivers critical services for government and commercial customers. Headquartered in Columbus, Ohio since its founding in 1929, Battelle serves the national security, health and life sciences, and energy and environmental industries. For more information, visit 

Media Contacts

For more information contact Katy Delaney at (614) 424-7208 or at or contact T.R. Massey at (614) 424-5544 or at

Media Contacts

Katy Delaney
Director, Media Relations
Office: 1.614.424.7208

T.R. Massey

Senior Media Specialist
Office: 1.614.424.5544