arrows arrow-right arrow-left menu search rss youtube linkedin twitter facebook instagram arrow-play linkedIn

Education Leaders Join New Board for National STEM Network

Posted on Aug 1, 2016

COLUMBUS, Ohio (August 1, 2016) — Influence of the STEMxTM network will grow with today’s announcement of the first six members of the STEMx Advisory Board. These six leaders in business, education and advocacy each offer key experience in turning the promise of STEM into real impact for students. Six more STEM education leaders will join the board in 2017. STEMx is hosted by Battelle as a part of the company’s priority on STEM education.

The STEMx network, managed by Battelle Education, was formed by a coalition of state STEM networks in 2012. Each network represents the lead voice for STEM education in their state. Together, they aim to trade solutions to common problems and plan collective action. More than 20 U.S. states and territories count themselves as members of STEMx.

The new advisory board will provide guidance to the STEMx network at a critical time. The upcoming election and implementation of broad-reaching legislation like the Every Student Succeeds Act offer a key moment to advance STEM education. Together, these leaders connect the voice of business, educators, state government, and after-school education.

Aimee Kennedy, Vice-President of Education, STEM Learning and Philanthropy will chair the board. STEMx Director, Dr. Michael Feder, will serve as vice-chair. 

Members of the STEMx Advisory Board

Patrick D’Amelio, Washington STEM
D’Amelio is Chief Executive Officer of Washington STEM, a statewide nonprofit working to advance excellence and equity in STEM education. Washington STEM is a founding member of the STEMx network. D’Amelio has spent twenty-five years advancing opportunities for young people the education and youth development fields. Previously, he served as President and CEO of the Alliance for Education as well as Big Brothers Big Sisters of Puget Sound.  He has served on numerous non-profit and governmental boards including the national board of The Public Education Network. He holds a BA with an emphasis in Non-Profit Leadership from the Evergreen State College. 

Dr. David L. Evans, National Science Teachers Association
Evans is the Executive Director of the National Science Teachers Association (NSTA), the world’s largest professional organization representing science educators. Prior to NSTA, Evans held various science-related positions—Director of the Center for Sustainability at Noblis; Smithsonian Institution’s Under Secretary for Science; and Assistant Administrator for Oceanic & Atmospheric Research, National Oceanic & Atmospheric Administration. Evans also led the White House Global Climate Change Initiative, coordinating activities of 12 federal agencies. Evans was an oceanography professor at the University of Rhode Island and was a teacher in Pennsylvania.

Angela Hemingway, Idaho STEM Action Center
Hemingway serves as Executive Director of the Idaho STEM Action Center in the Office of the Governor. She spent more than a decade teaching science in Idaho classrooms before rising through the ranks at the Idaho Department of Education. As an educator, she won the Idaho Biology Teacher of the Year, and Governor’s and Industry’s Award for Notable Teachers of STEM. Hemingway is a doctoral candidate in curriculum and instruction at Boise State University. Idaho is a long serving member of STEMx.

Dr. Anita Krishnamurthi, Afterschool Alliance
Krishnamurthi serves as Vice President of STEM Policy for the Afterschool Alliance. Previously, she was the John Bahcall Public Policy Fellow at the American Astronomical Society. Prior to her fellowship, she worked at the National Aeronautics and Space Administration (NASA) and the National Academy of Sciences. Krishnamurthi's formal training is as an astrophysicist, receiving a PhD from The Ohio State University. 

Reginald McGregor, Rolls-Royce Corporation
Reginald McGregor is a Manager in the Research & Technology Strategy Group at Rolls-Royce Corporation. Reginald manages the engineering talent pipeline, overseeing the K12 STEM initiatives, collegiate co-op program and early career engineering leadership development programs. He is a mechanical engineer with an MBA with over 15 years of experience in aerospace. In 2006, McGregor received the Black Engineer of the Year Award from Black Engineer magazine.

Dr. Thomas T. Peters, SC Coalition for Mathematics & Science
Peters is the Executive Director of South Carolina’s Coalition for Mathematics & Science, founded by BMW Manufacturing Co., DuPont, Michelin North America and Duke Energy, and hosted by the College of Engineering, Computing and Applied Sciences at Clemson University. He is also Principal Investigator on a grant funded by Boeing SC that identifies disciplinary literacy strategies for middle school math and science. Recognized in 2010 as the National Science Education Leadership Association’s Outstanding Leader in Science Education, Peters has taught in middle school, high school and university classrooms. South Carolina has recently joined STEMx.

About Battelle Education
Battelle Education is a nonprofit subsidiary of Battelle dedicated innovation in education. Battelle Education brings the same pragmatic, problem-solving approach to education that Battelle brings to the wide world of science and technology challenges. Battelle Education manages a range of successful projects including the Ohio STEM Learning Network, Tennessee STEM Innovation Network, and the national STEMx network.

About Battelle
Every day, the people of Battelle apply science and technology to solving what matters most. At major technology centers and national laboratories around the world, Battelle conducts research and development, designs and manufactures products, and delivers critical services for government and commercial customers. Headquartered in Columbus, Ohio since its founding in 1929, Battelle serves the national security, health and life sciences, and energy and environmental industries. For more information, visit

Media Contacts

For more information contact Katy Delaney at (614) 424-7208 or or T.R. Massey at (614) 424-5544 or

Media Contacts

Katy Delaney
Director, Media Relations
Office: 1.614.424.7208

T.R. Massey

Senior Media Specialist
Office: 1.614.424.5544